Read the Amazon blog post here.

Amazon has launched Alexa+, its generative AI-powered voice assistant, in India with support for English, Hindi, and Hinglish. The service is initially available through an Early Access program, during which Alexa+ is free for users.

After Early Access ends, Alexa+ will remain free for Amazon Prime members. Prime Lite, Prime Shopping Edition, and non-Prime users must either subscribe to Alexa+ for Rs 2,000 per month or upgrade to the full Prime plan.

Users can request Early Access, while buyers of certain new Echo and Fire TV devices will receive immediate access. Amazon has not specified when the Early Access period will end.

Amazon has launched its revamped voice assistant in India after rebuilding Alexa using generative AI. Unlike the previous version, which relied on predefined commands and Alexa Skills, Alexa+ maintains conversational context, understands less structured requests, and performs actions on users’ behalf.

Amazon said users in India interacted with Alexa more than nine billion times over the past 12 months.

Alexa+ can carry out tasks on users’ behalf

Amazon is positioning Alexa+ as an AI agent rather than primarily as a voice-based information service.

The assistant manages smart-home devices, finds and plays media, suggests and orders products, provides meal recommendations, manages schedules, and can draft and send emails for users. For example, Alexa+ uses contextual information to identify the intended smart-home device without requiring users to specify its name. If a user says a room is dark, Alexa+ will turn on the lights in that room.

Users can create multi-step smart-home routines using voice commands, combining actions across lighting, curtains, entertainment devices, and other connected appliances. Alexa+ can also transfer media playback between compatible Echo devices as users move between rooms.

The assistant supports smart-home products from Atomberg, Qubo, Dreame, and Wipro. Integrated services include Amazon Music, Spotify, Apple Music, JioSaavn, Prime Video, and Netflix. Individual subscription charges may apply. Sanjeev Kapoor Recipes offers meal recommendations and step-by-step cooking instructions.

Alexa+ to expand into bookings, deliveries and services in India

Some of Alexa+’s advanced capabilities will not be available at launch.

Amazon said it plans to integrate Alexa+ with EazyDiner for restaurant reservations, Swiggy for food delivery and dining reservations, and District by Zomato for event and restaurant bookings.

The company also plans integrations with MakeMyTrip for travel bookings, HomeTriangle for home services, and Tripadvisor for travel planning.

Amazon did not specify when these integrations will become available in India.

These integrations may enable Alexa+ to complete transactions with third-party services rather than only provide recommendations and information.

Alexa+ supports English, Hindi and Hinglish

At launch, Alexa+ supports English, Hindi, and Hinglish in India and can process requests in which users switch languages within a single sentence. Amazon plans to add more Indian languages but has not provided a timeline or specified which languages will be included.

The assistant is also trained to understand Indian expressions, measurements, and family relationships. For example, Alexa+ can interpret expressions such as “dhai baje” for 2:30 and “ek paav” for 250 grams. It also recognises Hindi relationship terms such as bhanja, bhateeji, jethani, and devar.

Teams in Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Pune, and Chennai developed the technologies behind Alexa+, including speech recognition for Indian environments and language models that handle code-mixed Hinglish and India-specific requests.

Alexa+ remembers context and user preferences

The new assistant can retain conversational context, allowing users to continue interactions without repeating information supplied earlier in a conversation. This context transfers across devices. For example, a user can start an interaction on an Echo Show, continue it on the Alexa mobile app, and maintain the conversation context. Amazon also plans to offer Alexa+ through a web browser.

Alexa+ can learn a user’s preferences and routines, such as music choices and foods or books they avoid. According to Amazon, the assistant uses Visual ID and Voice ID to distinguish household members and personalise responses and actions. The assistant uses routine information to proactively perform or suggest actions. For example, it can flag scheduling conflicts or remind users to turn off lights before bedtime.

Amazon describes this approach as “ambient AI“, in which the assistant uses contextual information such as the time of day, a user’s location within their home, and established routines to determine when and how to respond.

Amazon expands Alexa’s shopping capabilities

Alexa+ further enhances integration with Amazon’s e-commerce platform.

Users can ask Alexa+ to find products, provide suggestions, and place orders. The assistant suggests alternatives if items are unavailable, creates shopping lists based on dietary preferences, tracks Amazon deliveries, and notifies users of price reductions on wishlist items.

Amazon says Alexa+ can compare product features and summarise verified customer reviews.

Amazon also plans to integrate its Amazon Now quick-commerce service with Alexa+. Once available, users will be able to search for items, select products, add them to their cart, and place Amazon Now orders using voice commands.

Amazon has not specified when the Alexa+ integration with Amazon Now will launch.

What happens to data Alexa+ collects?

Alexa+ now uses information about users’ routines, preferences, and past interactions to deliver personalised responses and perform tasks.

Amazon states that users can manage Alexa+ data through the Alexa Privacy Dashboard. The dashboard lets users review interactions, listen to voice recordings, inspect shared attachments, and adjust voice-recording retention periods. These controls are available in both the Alexa app and online.

However, Amazon’s announcement does not specify how data from Alexa+ interactions is used to train its AI models or how data is managed when Alexa+ interacts with third-party services.

New Echo devices built around Alexa+

Amazon is also rolling out hardware designed specifically for the new assistant.

According to Amazon, the Echo Show 8, Echo Show 11, Echo Dot Max, and Echo Studio are designed to support Alexa+. These devices feature enhanced processing power, increased memory, edge-computing capabilities, and updated sensors.

A year-long global rollout

Amazon introduced Alexa+ at a New York event in February 2025, presenting it as a fully redesigned assistant to compete with OpenAI’s ChatGPT and Google’s Gemini. Alexa+ uses Anthropic’s AI models, Amazon’s Nova models, and Annapurna Labs’ Trainium 2 chips.

The service was initially free for Prime members or available for $19.99 per month, launching in preview for US customers in March 2025. It became widely available in the US on February 4, 2026, following a year-long Early Access program.

Non-Prime members received limited, free text-based chat at Alexa.com and in the Alexa app, with a paid tier for full access. Amazon highlighted the US launch as significant, given the 600 million Alexa-enabled devices in use worldwide, and expanded the rollout in phases.

Also read: